EveryDay stuff

Cervical cancer…….

I find it sad that it usually takes a celebrity suffering to raise awareness of awful diseases.  Cervical cancer is very much in the press in the UK at the moment.

I remember my niece E was quite upset that although before she turned 25 she’d got two children, she was never offered a smear test. Her first was born around the time Jade Goody, lost her life to cervical cancer. Some of you may have never hear of Jade, but she became famous in the UK from being a contestant on the reality TV show Big Brother. Jade was a big big name then, and in a similar situation to E, with two young children. At 27, Jade was diagnosed with cervical cancer, and she lost her life to it, but not before she made the whole country aware of it. And because of her honesty and not hiding she was ill, the numbers of smear tests carried out went up. Unfortunately that was 9 years ago, and ‘the Jade Goody effect’ has sadly worn off. Many of the young women out there have never heard of her, many have forgotten about her, many think ‘it’ll never happen to me’.

I’ve had a cervical cancer scare, but I was lucky, others aren’t as lucky as me.

I was no different to a lot of people, the letter telling me I was due for a smear test on my birthday arrived, I ignored it. The same again happened when the next letter arrived, and the next….this went on for years. Then a friend K said she had had a smear and that there was something there.

Thankfully K’s was caught in time for her, but from the treatment she had, we didn’t know if she would ever be able to have children. Four years ago a miracle, Little Miss, arrived (we don’t spoil her too much!!!), so there is hope.

Due to K’s problems, this kicked me into action of getting my first one done, the nurse who did the smear, found polyps, that time all was fine, it was a horrible experience, but had to be done. Next time I had a letter, I didn’t put it off, only this time, they found something. And so started three years of back and forth to my local hospital for regular checks. The first trip, they did a biopsy. The second trip was for treatment. When I arrived for the treatment, I was asked if I would mind if there were extra staff watching, as the treatment they were planning to do was rare, from what I understand, they were going to scrape my cervix with a wire. I agreed to all the people, as everyone has to learn. However, when the consultant, went to carry out the procedure, but found that there was nothing for him to remove. From what I understand, the previous consultant, had removed all the abnormal cells when she took her sample. I then had a few six monthly appointments, then finally a one year appointment. (The BF went nuts because I went to my final appointment on my own. He knew I was going, but didn’t realise what it was for.) I am now back on the routine three year tests. It was a horrible period of time in my life, which I wouldn’t want to repeat, or wish on my worst enemy.

A smear test is not the most pleasant thing to have done, and being honest, it was a lot better at the hospital, as they do this sort of thing all the time, but that little bit of discomfort is worth it. Don’t worry what you look/smell like down there either, the consultants (and nurses at the doctors) have seen/smelt it all, I’m sure of that…………..

When that letter arrives, book up that appointment, it could be one of the best decisions of your life!

Leave a comment